June 10, 2015 09:30 PM

Mohali (Neha Verma)

The Darshan Didar Yatra, a unique initiative of the Punjab Government and Shiromani Gurudwara Parbandhak Committee (SGPC) for the darshan of the relics of three Sikh Guru's today entered the SAS Nagar district amidst a sea of devotees. The yatra entered the district from village Majaat. It was welcomed by Member of Parliament Prof Prem Singh Chandumajra, former union minister Balwant Singh Ramoowalia, SAD district president Jathedar Ujagar Singh Badali, Organisational Secretary Amrik Singh Mohali, District Planning Committee chairperson Amanjot Kaur Ramoowalia, Ajmer Singh Khera, Charanjit Singh Kalewala and Nirmal Singh Jaulakalan (all three SGPC members), Deputy Commissioner Tejinder Pal Singh Sidhu, DIG R K Jaiswal, SSP Gurpreet Singh Bhullar, besides several others. On the occasion, the Panj Piaras were honoured by presenting Siropas. As the yatra entered the SAS Nagar district, a Punjab Police contingent led by DSP and Hockey Olympian Rajpal Singh gave a guard of honour to the yatra. Despite severe weather conditions, thousands of devotees welcomed the yatra and had darshan of relics of Guru Sahiban. Several stalls of Chabeel and Langar were also set up throughout the route. While speaking on the occasion, Prof Prem Singh Chandumajra and Balwant Singh Ramoowalia lauded the efforts of Punjab government and SGPC for starting this yatra, which would educate the youth about our religion, history and legacy. They said that the yatra carries relics of Sri Guru Hargobind Sahib, Sri Guru Teg Bahadar Sahib and Sri Guru Gobind Singh Ji displayed in a specially crafted 33 feet long bus. They informed that a unique initiative of Punjab government and SGPC, the yatra started on May 6 from Sri Dukhniwaran Sahib Gurudwara in Patiala and after passing through all the districts of state will culminate at Sri Anandpur Sahib on June 18. Deputy Commissioner Tejinder Pal Singh Sidhu informed that the District Administration has made elaborate arrangements for the smooth conduct of Darshan Didar Yatra in SAS Nagar district for next two days. He informed that for two days (today and tomorrow), the yatra would halt at Gurudwara Amb Sahib in Phase-8, SAS Nagar.  Prominent among those present on the occasion included District Akali Dal (Urban) President Joginder Singh Slaich, vice president Jaspinder Singh Virk, Istri Akali Dal president and councillor Kuldeep Kaur Kang, councillor Harmanpreet Singh Prince, councillor Kamaldeep Singh Ruby, councillor Gurmukh Singh Sohal, Market Committee Kharar chairman Jathedar Baljit Singh Kumbhra, Block Samiti Kharar chairman Resham Singh Bairopur, Harinder Pal Singh Chandumajra, Sahib Singh Badali, Hardev Singh Harpalpur, Jathedar Manjit Singh Mandho, Surinder Singh Dharamgarh, Prem Singh Romana, Kuldeep Singh Kharar, ADC (D) Poonamdeep Kaur, SDM Kharar Sukhjit Singh, SDM Mohali Lakhmir Singh, XEN Sukhwinder Singh Pandher, besides several others.

Have something to say? Post your comment
Copyright © 2017, Face 2 News, All rights reserved. Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy Disclaimers