February 13, 2017 07:16 PM
Chandigarh (Face2News)
Top seed Davis Cupper Yuki Bhambri easily won from wild card Kunal Anand in straight sets 6-1, 6-2 in the singles first round match in the $ 15,000 ITF Men’s Futures Tennis Tournament at the Sector 10 Tennis Stadium here today. In another singles match second seed Sriram Balaji defeated local player Ranjeet Singh in straight setYuki Bhambri and Balaji move into second rounds. In the first t set Sriram Balaji faced tough resistance from the opponent Ranjeet Singh who was leading 3-1 but after that Balaji fought back and won in the tie break 7-6(5). In the second set Balaji used his experience to break the opponent’s rhythm and closed the set and match easily 6-2.   Another Indian young player Dhruv Sunish who was runner-up in the ITF Juniors Grade III Chandigarh January 2017 upset 5th seed Kalovelonis M. 7-5, 3-1 retd. Hung Jui-Chen defeated another wild card Suresh Dhakshineswar 6-3, 6-2.
In the doubles 1st round matches top seed Davis Cupper Vishnu Vardhan / Balaji won from Rishabh Aggarwal/Niki Poonacha in a three setter match tie break 6-4, 3-6, (10-1). In another interesting doubles match second seed former Davis Cupper Sanam Singh / Prashanth N. defeated Aryan G. / Jayesh P. in an easy match 6-1, 6-1. Jayaprakash /Vinayak Sharma and Shahbaaz Khan/Hadin Bava also moved into the quarters of doubles.
Singles (1st round); Yuki Bhambri [1] bt. Kunal Anand 6-1 6-2;  Jui-Chen Hung bt. Dhakshineswar Suresh 6-3 6-2;  N.Sriram Balaji [2] bt. Ranjeet Singh 7-6(5) 6-2;  Dhruv Sunish Markos bt. Kalovelonis [5] 7-5 3-1 Retd.
Doubles (1st round):  N.Sriram Balaji (Ind) / Vishnu Vardhan (Ind) [1] bt. Rishab Agarwal (Ind) / Niki Kaliyanda Poonacha (Ind) 6-4 3-6 [10-1];  Mateusz Terczynski (Pol) / Jose Fco. Vidal Azorin (Esp) bt. Naithaolin Calvin Golmei (Ind) / Rishabh Sharda (Ind) 6-3 6-2;  Mohit Mayur Jayaprakash (Ind) / Vinayak Sharma Kaza (Ind) [4] bt. Jui-Chen Hung (Tpe) / Fahad Mohammed (Ind) 6-3 6-4;  Pirmin Haenle (Ger) / Shane Vinsant (Usa) bt. Kunal Anand (Ind) / Anvit Bendre (Ind) 6-0 6-2; Adil Kalyanpur (Ind) / Sasi Kumar Mukund (Ind) bt. Vijayant Malik (Ind) / Sidharth Rawat (Ind) 6-2 6-3;  Haadin Bava (Ind) / Shahbaaz Khan (Ind) bt. Markos Kalovelonis (Rus) / Timur Khabibulin (Kaz) [3] 1-6 6-2 [11-9];  Ishaque Eqbal (Ind) / Anurag Nenwani (Ind) bt. Jatin Dahiya (Ind) / Ranjeet Singh (Ind) 6-2 6-3;  N. Vijay Sundar Prashanth (Ind) / Sanam Singh (Ind) [2] bt. Aryan Goveas (Ind) / Jayesh Pungliya (Ind) 6-1 6-1.
Have something to say? Post your comment