September 02, 2017 07:27 PM

Chandigarh (Face2News)

Haryana Government has notified the Haryana Consumer Protection (Amendment) Rules, 2017. While stating this here today, an official spokesman said that the State Consumer Protection Council established under sub-section (1) of section 7 of the Consumer Protection Act 1986 would consist of 35 official and non-official members.

The official members include the Chief Minister or Minister-In-charge of Food and Supplies as chairman of the State Council and Minister of State or Deputy Minister attached with Minister-In-charge or the Secretary of the Department as the vice-chairman of the State Council. The President of the State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission and Administrative Secretary for Food and Supplies Department.

He said that the official members would also included five official members from any of these ministries or departments subject to the availability of their field offices in the respective state, namely Bureau of Indian Standards/Food Corporation of India, Telecom, Transport (Railways/Civil Aviation/Shipping), Health, Rural Development, Power, Public Works, Education, Social Justice, Information and Broadcasting (Field Publicity/All India Radio/Doordarshan/Directorate of Advertising and Visual Publicity), Agriculture, Panchayat Raj, Forest and Environment, Urban Development, and Science and Technology, one official or non-official member, as may be nominated by the Central Government and Director or Director General of the Food and Supplies Department, would be the Member Secretary of the State Council.

He said that the non-official members include one person or one member of any Non Governmental Organisation from each district or non-official member representing consumer organisations or consumer activities in their individual capacity. No individual representing consumer organisations would be eligible to be nominated as member unless the organisations have been registered under the Societies Registration Act, 1860 or under similar Act for last five year, the organisation have been active in the consumer welfare activities for last three years or the organisation have a registered office and address. The organisation should have contributed substantially by way of awareness programmes targeting rural consumers, being engaged in conducting testing of products and service meant to benefit consumers, being engaged in representing consumers in the Consumer Fora in class action suits or otherwise, or having strengthened consumer movement through consumer advocacy of consumer causes, having led consumer advocacy which resulted in visible impact or policy changes or having produced literature, research papers or documented consumer law and best practices or presented papers in national or international fora.

The spokesman said that non-official members would also include three representatives of women from various fields such as education, social work, public welfare and house wives. They would also include one individual consumer activist who has a convincing track record on consumer welfare activities during last five years which has led to a visible impact on the society and consumers as a whole or consumer advocacy on various issues affecting consumers were taken up and resulted in policy changes and who is fully conversant with consumer law and practice.

He said that the State Council would meet at least once in every quarter. The State Council would take up local issues effecting consumers and may also propose changes in consumer protection measures through Central Consumer Protection Council. He said that the conditions such as political affiliation, charge sheeted or convicted for criminal activities, irresponsible and consumer unfriendly behaviour, engaged in unlawful activities, medically unfit, poor knowledge or consumer law and issues or absent for two consecutive meetings of the council, would disqualify member.The tenure of the non-official members would be three years from the date of its constitution whereas the official members would remain permanently, he added.


Have something to say? Post your comment
Copyright © 2017, Face 2 News, All rights reserved. Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy Disclaimers