April 23, 2018 09:24 AM

Chandigarh (Face2News) 

A meeting of the Punjab Secretariat Services Retired Officers Association was held here on Saturday under the presidentship of Shmt. Kanwaljit Kaur Bhatia. 

The meeting started with religious song followed by obituary references to the departed souls. Shri Amarjit Singh Walia, General Secretary of the Association explained to the members the details of discussion held with the chairman, 6th Punjab Pay Commission, Sh. Jai Singh Gill. The discussion included suggestions regarding exemption of pension from income tax, fitment weightage of 40% to pensioners, parity of pension to old and new pensioners, restoration of 40% commutation of pension, rationalization of interest of the recovery of commuted pension, grant of additional 10 days of basic pension for LTC, revision of fixed medical allowance @ Rs 1500 per month and implementation of recommendation of pay commission w.e.f. 01/01/2016 etc etc. 

Sh. Amarjit Singh Walia, General Secretary also explained to the members the position of COCP in the case of Sh. Karanbir Singh and others and other contempt cases. Position regarding grant of secretariat pay case in the court and with reference to 22 months arrear of DA (Public Interest Litigation in this respect)  etc. The position regarding junior/senior pending cases were also explained. 

Members of the association who have attained the age of 70, 80 and 90 years were honored by presenting mementos. Sh. Sadhu Singh Cheema who served the association as treasurer for 15 years and Sh. Amrik Singh Girn who hosted the lunch, were also honored. 

Shmt. Kanwaljit Kaur Bhatia was unanimously elected president of the association for another two years. In addition to cultural items, the meeting also addressed by Sh. Oma Kant Tiwari, Surjit Singh Sheetal and Sh. Syam Lal Sharma. 

Shmt. Kanwaljit Kaur Bhatia thanked the members for unanimously electing her as President and pledged to serve the Association with more hard work and dedication. Later on, Shmt. Kanwaljit Kaur Bhatia nominated Sh. Amarjit Singh Walia as General Secretary, Sh. Manohar Singh Makkar and Sh. Karnail Singh Goraya as Vice Presidents, Sh. Oma Kant Tiwari and Sh. Syam Lal Sharma as Secretaries, Sh. Hari Raj as Treasurer and Sh. Sadhu Singh Kang as Auditor. In addition to this, eleven Executives Members were also nominated.

Have something to say? Post your comment
Copyright © 2017, Face 2 News, All rights reserved. Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy Disclaimers