February 11, 2019 05:25 PM

Bathinda ((Face2News)

The students of department of Architecture of Maharaja Ranjit Singh Punjab Technical University (MRSPTU), Bathinda brought laurels to the University by bagging number of prizes in the prestigious annual National Association of Students of Architecture (NASA-2019) Convention held at Bengaluru (Karnataka).

The four day convention was organised on a national level in the SJB School of Architecture and Planning, Bengaluru recently. Around 191 colleges and about 5,000 delegates comprising of architects, professionals and students from various architecture colleges from all over the country participated with great enthusiasm and zeal.

Architecture, Urban Design, Interior Design and various competitive events were organised in the convention. Design competitions for trophies which were named as Laurie Baker Trophy, Landscape Trophy, Rubens trophy, Contemporary House Design, G Sentrophy and Main Design Trophy were organised.

The delegation of 20 students from MRSPTU, Bathinda participated in various competitions, workshops and seminars organised during the fest.

In individual entries, Anurag Prajapati and Nishu Rao won the first position in ‘Art Installation’ competition and Manik Singhal, Ashutosh, and Diganggana won the second position in a Space Design competition. The winning students were felicitated with winning certificates and medals.

Two group entries of MRSPTU students which went up to the final round of design trophies, for which they were felicitated with appreciation certificates. Students worked for the Laurie Baker Trophy under the leadership of Vishesh Verma. Gurpreet Singh, Nishu Rao, Manpreet Singh and Bhinder Singh lead the Main Design Trophy.

Renowned architect Daniel Garofalo, Environmental Sustainability Director, University of Pennsylvania delivered an expert lecture on this occasion on “Environmental Responsive Architecture”.

Prof. Ripu Daman Singh, Head of the department, departmental faculty Ar. Bhupinder Pal Singh, Dr. Jatinder Kaur, Ar. Kapil Arora and all the rest appreciated the splendid performance of the students. Ar. Vidh Chauhan accompanied the Bathinda delegation for the convention.

Congratulating the students and the faculty of the department MRSPTU, Vice Chancellor, Prof. (Dr.) Mohan Paul Singh Ishar and Registrar Dr. Jasbir Singh Hundal termed performances of shining architectures as path-breaking.

Lauding the efforts of the Architecture Department, Prof. Ishar and Dr. Hundal extolled the spirit and hard work put in by the department in promoting the students and making the department the most sought after school of architecture in Punjab by leaving their mark at such prestigious events.


Have something to say? Post your comment
Copyright © 2017, Face 2 News, All rights reserved. Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy Disclaimers