February 09, 2017 07:25 PM
Chandigarh (Sports Bureau)
Top seed Ajay Malik and second seed Krishna Hooda registered victories in contrasting styles in the boys singles quarter-finals of the CLTA-AITA Road to Wimbledon Tennis Tournament at the Sector 10 Tennis Stadium here today.Krishan Hooda of CHART Haryana reached semi-finals in singles and finals in doubles. In the semi finals Krishan Hooda defated Sanjeet Devneni in an easy match 6-2, 6-1. Krishan will face Shushant Dabas in the singles semi finalstomorrow. In another match top seed Ajay Malik won from Dhruv Tangri in a three setter. Ajay won first set 6-3. In the second set Dhruv came back strongly and played consistently to win 6-4. In the third and deciding set Ajay Malik broke Dhruv’s serve in the 9th game and was leading 5-4. Finally Ajay used his experience to close the final set and match 6-4. Udit Gogoi and Shushant Dabas also won their quarter final matches from Nikhil Niranjan and Aman Dahiya in straight sets 6-0, 6-3 and 6-1, 6-3 respectively.
In the girls quarter finals top seed Sandeepti Singh defeated Aditi Narayan in an easy match 6-2, 6-3. Sudipta Senthil also won from Hrudaya Kaustubh in straight sets 6-1, 6-0. Surajana Rayarala and Priyanshi Sankesh also moved into semi finals.
In the boys doubles semi finals 2nd seed Krishan Hooda and Dhruv Tangri defeated Nikhil Niranjan and Vishal Pagadala in straight set 6-2, 6-4. Krishan Hooda / Dhruv will face top seed Ajay Malik/Shushant Dabas in the boys doubles final match tomorrow.
In the girls doubles Sandeepti Rao/Sudipta Senthil defeated Hrudaya/Avi in straight sets 7-6(3), 6-2. In another semi final Sanjana/Mushrath defeated Aditi/Naisha in a three setter match 7-5, 4-6, 10-7.
Boys singles (q-finals):   Ajay Malik bt. Dhruv Tangri 6-3, 4-6, 6-4,  Udit Gogoi bt. Nikhil Niranjan Thirumale 6-0, 6-3,  Sushant Dabas bt. Aman Dahiya 6-1, 6-3, Krishan Hooda bt. Sanjith Devineni 6-2, 6-1.
Girls singles (q-finals): Sandeepti Singh bt. Aditi Narayan 6-2, 6-3,   Surajana Rayarala bt. Avi Shah 6-3, 6-3,  Priyanshi Sankesh bt. Naisha Srivastav 6-2, 6-1,  Sudipta Senthil bt. Hrudaya Kaustubh 6-1, 6-0.
Boys doubles (semi-finals): Ajay Malik/Sushant Dabas bt. Rudra Kapoor/Udit Gogoi 6-0, 6-0,  Krishan Hooda/Dhruv Tangri bt. Nikhil Niranjan/Vishal Pagadala 6-2, 6-4.
Girls doubles (s-finals): Sandeepti Singh Rao / Sudipta Senthil bt.Hrudaya Shah/Avi Shah 7-6(3), 6-2, Srujana Rayarala/Mushrath Anjum bt. Aditi Narayan/Naisha Srivastav 7-5, 4-6, 10-7.
Have something to say? Post your comment