October 22, 2017 06:30 PM

Jalandhar (Sports Desk)

The stage is set for 34th edition of the IndianOil SERVO Surjit Hockey (Men & Women) Tournament, which begins here at local Olympian Surjit Hockey Stadium, Burlton Park on Oct.23.

Tournament is organized every year by the Surjit Hockey Society, Jalandhar to keep the name of ex-Olympian late Sardar Surjit Singh Randhawa, former skipper of Indian Hockey Team alive, who lost his life in a fatal car accident near Jalandhar on January 7th, 1984, while fighting hard for up-liftment of the National Game of Hockey in our Country.

According to Mr. Varinder Sharma, IAS, Deputy Commissioner Jalandhar, who is also the President of the Surjit Hockey Society that the 34th edition of the tournament would be played league-cum-knock out basis. All the 12 teams in Men Section have been divided into 4 pools. Last Year's Champion Punjab National Bank, Delhi, ONGC, Delhi, Indian Railways seeded in pool-’A’, Indian Air Force, Mumbai, Bharat Petroleum Mumbai & Punjab Police placed in pool-’B’, last year’s Runners up Indian Army, New Delhi, IndianOil Mumbai, Indian Navy Mumbai have been kept in in pool-’C’ whereas Punjab & Sind Bank Delhi, CAG Delhi & Air India Mumabi have been placed in pool-’D’. The winner team of each pool will qualify for the semi finals scheduled to be held on October 30.

Women Section, Last Year's Champion Western Railways, Mumbai, CRPF, Delhi, UCO Bank & Punjab-Xi have been seeded in pool in pool-’A’ whereas Runners up Haryana-XI, North Central Railways Allahabad & RCF, Kapurthala have been placed in in pool-’B’. Top team of the each pool will meet each other in finals on October 29.

As in the past 27 years, this year also, the Asia’s largest and leading Maharatna Oil Company IndianOil Corporation Limited will be the Main Title sponsor of the tournament. Punjab & Sing bak, Delhi, HDFC, bank, Punjab National Bank, UCO Bank, Sonalika Tractors, IJM Group, Nakodar, Pukhraj, 24 SEVEN, Penticton (Canada) Gold's Gym, Jalandhar, Victoria Gardens, CT Group of Institutions, Jalandhar, Uppal Hospitality Group (UHG) of Hong Kong, Innocent Hearts, Jalandhar, Tracer Shoes, AGI Infra, DIPs Institutions, Pyramid College of Business, Rakshak Sports will be the associate ponsors of the tournament, Mr. Sharma Added.

According to Mr. Iqbal Singh Sandhu,PCS, Additional Deputy Commissioner Ludhaina, who is also the President of the Surjit Hockey Society that That the tournament committee is expected to attract Hockey followers in large number as this year also the spectators who come to witness the Hockey matches and the players/officials who will participate in this tournament will get ALTO , Motor Cycles, Refrigerator and LCDs as prize on the final day under . These prizes shall be decided by draw of lot and every day each spectators will be issued a lucky coupons for 9 days where as the players/officials will be given lucky coupons on the day of the first match. The matches will be played under flood lights in the stadium and no gate entry money will be charged to the spectators who will come to witness the game of Hockey. All types of arrangements like boarding and lodging, Transport, security, medical etc. have been completed.

There will be 3 matches daily. The Last two Matches of the tournament will be played mostly under flood lights and no gate entry money will be charged from the spectators who will come to witness the game of hockey.

Mr. Sandhu further informed that the arrangements have been made for the LIVE telecast of both the Semi Finals & Final Match of the tournament on PTC Channels on 30 and 31 of October, respectively. All India Radio, Jalandhar will also relay the 'Ball-to-Ball' running commentary of the final match. There will a colorful cultural programme of the final day of the tournament where Famous Punjabi Folk Lakhwinder Wadali will give his LIVE performance to entertain the spectators, before the start of the final match on Oct. 31 from 5.30 pm onwards. The Canada based NRI Mr. Gary Johal (Jandila) has sponsored the cultural programme. A full-fledged media centre has also been set up for the convenience of the print and electronic media.

Mrs. Aruna Choudhari, Minister for Education, Punjab will inaugurate the tournament whereas Padamshree Pargat Singh, Olympian & former Skipper of the Indian Hockey Team will preside over, Mr. Sandeep Jain, Chief General Manager, IOC, Mr. Rajinder Berry, Mr. Sushil Rinku, Bawa Avtar Henery & Choudhary Surinder Singh (all MLAs) will be the Guest of Honour during the opening of the tournament, Mr. Sandhu added.

Have something to say? Post your comment
Copyright © 2017, Face 2 News, All rights reserved. Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy Disclaimers