December 04, 2017 06:11 PM
Punjab CM Captain Amarinder Singh along with PPCC president Sunil Jakhar, AICC secretary and Punjab in-charge Asha Kumari and AICC secretary Harish Chaudhary held a meeting in New Delhi on Monday in connection with the ensuing civic body poll in Punjab.


New Delhi (Face2Mews)

The Congress on Monday released its first list of candidates for the MC elections in Punjab, choosing to go with its one-family-one-ticket rule with the exception of sitting councillors. The party, which has announced names of 31 candidates for Patiala, has decided to field all the sitting councillors, while taking a tough stand against rebels and deserters.

These decisions were taken on Monday at a high-level meeting chaired by Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh. Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee (PPCC) president Sunil Jakhar was present at the meeting, held in New Delhi, along with AICC secretary and Punjab in-charge Asha Kumari and AICC secretary Harish Chaudhary. 

The meeting decided that those who left the party in 2012 and 2014 will not be accommodated in the matter of ticket allocation for the MC polls. However, those who contested and lost MC elections earlier but remained steadfast in their loyalty to the party would be considered for nomination. 

In another decision aimed at rewarding loyalty and boosting party morale, it was decided to give preference to original Congress members over those who have joined from other parties, according to a party spokesperson. 

There was no change in the party’s policy with regard to ticket allocation from the one followed during the Punjab assembly polls, said the spokesperson, adding that the success of the Congress in the February state elections had shown that merit and winnabilty were the right considerations in choosing the best candidates. 

List of Approved Candidates for Ward 1, 30 to 60 ( Ward No. 47 Pending) of Patiala Municipal Corporation. 


Ward No.


1-Ladies General

Parnit Kaur w/o Baljinder Singh


Harish Aggarwal s/o Puran Chand

31 Ladies General

Jaspal Kaur w/o Bhalwinder Singh Sehgal

32 General

Harish Nagpal s/o Mahesh Nagpal

33 Ladies BC

Shanti Devi w/o Niranjan Das

34 General

Atul Joshi s/o Balram Joshi

35 Ladies General

Saroj Sharma w/o Amarjit Sharma

36 S.C. Gents

Shammi Kumar s/o Late Dalip Singh

37 Ladies General

Meenakshi Kashyap w/o Gopi Kashyap

38 General

Nikhil Batish Sheru Pandit

s/o Mahesh Sharma Pinku Pandit

39 Ladies General

Leela rani w/o Rajinder pal

40 General

Sandeep Malhotra s/o Mahesh Malhotra

41 Ladies General

Sonia Kapoor w/o Harish Kapoor

42 General

Sanjeev Bittu s/o Ramesh Sharma

43  Ladies General

Varsha Kapoor w/o Ashwani Kapoor

44 General

Krishan Chand Bhudhu s/o Late Amarnath

45 Ladies General

Monika Sharma w/o Sanjeev Happy Sharma

46 General

Happy Verma s/o Balbir Singh

47 Ladies SC


48 General

Yoginder Singh s/o Khajan Singh

49 Ladies General

Aarti Gupta w/o Rajesh Gupta

50 General

Harwinder Singh Nippi s/o Pritam Singh

51 Ladies SC

Vinti Sungar w/o Sonu Sungar

52 General

Rajesh Mandora s/o Nathu Ram

53 Ladies General

Gurinder Kaur Kalika w/o Manjeev Singh Kalika

54 General

Vijay Kumar s/o Satparkash

55 Ladies General

Rajni Sharma w/o Late Atul Sharma

56 General

Amarvir Kaur bedi w/o Balwinder Singh Bedi

57 Ladies SC

Satwant Rani w/o Roop Kumar

58 General

Naresh Duggal s/o Sukhdev Singh Duggal

59 Ladies General

Meenakshi Singla w/o Gopal Singla Ex-MC

60 SC Gents

Sukhwinder Singh s/o Joginder Singh




Have something to say? Post your comment
Copyright © 2017, Face 2 News, All rights reserved. Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy Disclaimers