March 10, 2019 07:51 PM

Mohali (Sports Desk)

Openers left hander Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma gave India virtually a match-winning start by stitching a brilliant 193-run stand against Australia in the fourth day-night one day match against Australia at the IS Bindra PCA Stadium here on Sunday. Riding on the powerful opening wicket stand, India piled up an imposing total of 358 for 9 in allotted 50 overs in their innings and setting a tough target of 359 runs for Australia to win.

Twenty five years old new ball bowler Patrick James Cummins emerged the most successive Australian bowler as he captured five wickets while conceding 70 runs in his 10-over spell. His victims were Shikhar Dhawan (143), Rishabh Pant (36), Kedar Jadhav (10), Vijay Shankar (26) and Yuzvendra Chahal (0). India lost their last eight wickets for just 104 runs as they wanted to have as many as runs possible. From 254 for 2 (37.4 overs) to India slip to 358 for 9 (50 overs).

Jhye Richardson got three wickets for 85 runs.

It was mixed feeling in the Indian camp despite both openers giving their best. While Shikhar Dhawan completed his 16th ODI century Rohit was unlucky to miss the three-figure mark by five runs.

Australlia got their first breakthrough through Jhye Richardson who had Rohit Sharma caught by Peter Handscomb at deep midwicket. Rohit, who became more aggressive after completing his 40th ODI, contributed 95 runs from 92 deliveries. His brilliant innings contained seven hits to the fence and two sweetly timed sixes.

Rohit's 50 came in 61 balls and three fours and one six. Getting more opportunity to face the bowlers, after getting his half century, Rohit at one stage overtook Shikhar as he raced 91 from 90 balls while Shikhar, who was dominating batsman was on 89 from 90 deliveries. Rohit got his last 45 runs of the innings from just 31 deliveries.

After the departure of Rohit Sharma, K Lokesh Rahul, who was among the four changes India made today, joined his senior partner Dhawan. Shikhar climbed on top as he continued to dominate the Australian bowlers.

However, fast bowler Pat Cummins got the prized wicket of Shikhar Dhawan who tried to hook the bowler over the midwicket but missed it and was bowled. Shikhar Dhawan slamed authritative knock of 143 which came from 115 deliveries. During his vigil at the wicket, Dhawan executed 18 well-timed boundaries and three sixes. His striking rate was 124.34.

Dhawan and Lokesh Rahul were associated in 61 runs for the second wicket stand.

At the fall of Dhawan's wicket, Indian captain Virat Kohli joined Lokesh Rahul. Kohli was a disappointment for the holiday crowd who wanted to have more firework. He could make only seven before he was caught by wicketkeeper Carey of the bowling of Richardon. It was Richardson's second wicket.

Rishabh Pant, was the other change Indian made for the Mohali ODI, joined Lokesh Rahul. Lokesh Rahul, while playing spinner Adam Zampa, was caught behind by Carey. His ball took some turn and took the outside edge for Carey to grab. Rahul made 27 from 31 balls. It was Adam Zampa's 50th ODI wicket. Rahul's wicket fell at 296.

Wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant returned to be pavilion after contributing 36 runs from 24 balls, four fours and one six. He was caught by Aaron Flinch off the bowling of Pat Cummins. India were 314 for 5 in 45.3 overs.

Earlier, Vikrat Kohli won the toss and elected to bat in the fourth ODI in the five-match series. India have won the Hyderabad and Nagpur matches before Australia hit back by emerging winners at Ranchi. India made four changes from the Ranchi match.MS Dhoni, who has been rested for the last two ODIs, has been replaced by Rishabh Pant. Yuzvendra Chahal, KL Rahul and Bhuvneshwar Kumar are among the playing XI.


INDIA: Rohit Sharma c Handcomb b Richardson 95, Shikhar Dhwan b Pat Cummins 143, K Lokesh Rahul c Carey b Adam Zampa 26, Virat Kohli c Carey b Richardson 7, Rishabh Pant c Aaron Finch b Pat Cummins 36, Kedar Jadhav c Richardson b Cummin 10, Vijay Shankar c Maxwell b Cummins 26, Bhubneshwar Kumar c Carey b Richardson 1, Kuldeep Yadav not out 1, Yuzvendra Chahal c and b Cummins 0, Jasprit Bumrah not out 6.

Total (for nine wickets in 50 overs) 358.

Fall of wickets: 1-193, 2-254, 3-266, 4-296, 5-314, 6-331, 7-344, 8-351, 9-352.

Bowling: Pat Cummins 10-0-70-5, Jason Behrendorff 10-1-61-0, Jhye Richardson 9-0-85-3, Glenn Maxwell 8-1-61-0, Adam Zampa 10-0-57-0, Aaron Finch 3-0-22-0.

Have something to say? Post your comment
Copyright © 2017, Face 2 News, All rights reserved. Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy Disclaimers