May 14, 2019 11:22 AM

Chandigarh (Subhash Jindal) 

N Rishikanta emerged a clear-cut winner in the men's single scull final by clocking 2:43:607 in the Chandigarh State Rowing Championship at Sukhna Lake Sports Complex here. The silver medal went to Ajay who covered the course in 2: 56:22. Raman stood third with a timming of 3:33:788. 

 Manisha and Renu displayed better coordination and claimed the top position in the women's doubles scull with a timing of 3:14:45. In a close race Radha and Pooja earned silver with a timing of 3:18:48 and the choclate colour medal was bagged by Arju and Varnika. 

The men's coxless pair event witnessed Shubham and Sukhdeep cornering glory with a timing of 2:38:75. Prabal Dalal and Savinay Singh came second by clocking 2:31:94. The third place went to Gurpreet Singh and Ravinder Singh who were home in 3:07:811. 

A team comprising Sahil, Gaurav, Lovepreet and Vikas claimed gold medal in the men's coxless pairs with a timing 2:14:284.  

According to Chandigarh Rowing Association secretary Advocate Rajiv Sharma the trials were conducted to select Chandigarh rowing team to participate in 22nd Sub-Junior and 4th Interstate Challenger 500 meters Rowing Championship to be held at Army Rowing Node Pune, Maharashtra from  June 7 to 11.  

Dr Anmol Rattan Sidhu, senior Advocate and President of Chandigarh Rowing Association gave away the prizes to the winners. The Chandigarh rowing center got its new motor boat after a gap of 10 years. Dr Anmol Rattan Sidhu promised to make this center as one of the best rowing centers in the coming years, that will benefit all the rowing players of UT, Chandigarh. 


Women's Double scull: 1 Manisha and Renu 3:14:45; 2 Radha and Pooja  3:18:48; 3  Arju and Varnika.  

Men's single Scull: 1  N Rishikanta 2:43:607; 2 Ajay scored 2: 56:22; 3  Raman  3:33:788. 

Men's Coxless pairs: 1 Shubham and Sukhdeep 2:38:75; 2  Prabal Dalal and Savinay Singh   2:31:94; 3  Gurpreet Singh and Ravinder Singh 3:07:811. 

Men's coxless fours :  1 Sahil, Gaurav, Lovepreet and Vikas 2:14:284; 2 Rajat Kumar, Guruchatan, Sudarshan  2:15:245. 

Have something to say? Post your comment
Copyright © 2017, Face 2 News, All rights reserved. Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy Disclaimers