June 24, 2019 07:13 PM

Shimla (Vijyender Sharma)

A Full Court reference was held today in the High Court of Himachal Pradesh to welcome the new Chief Justice Shri V. Ramasubramanian. He had been sworn-in as the Chief Justice of High Court of Himachal Pradesh on 22/06/2019.

The proceedings of the reference were conducted by the Registrar General Sh. Virender Singh.

Speaking on the occasion, Justice V. Ramasubramanian said that it is an honour and privilege to come to serve in the Devabhoomi of Himachal Pradesh. He said that he is the 4th Judge of Madras High Court to have had the good fortune of being appointed as the Chief Justice of HP High Court. He said that being the 24th Chief Justice of High Court of Himachal Pradesh is an auspicious omen even as the famous Gayatri Mantra also has twenty four letters, which, in fact, was inspiration to the Sage Valmiki to compose the Ramayana epic. He said that he would strive to emulate his illustrious predecessors and that he looks forward to working together with the Brother Judges, the Bar and the staff of the Registry to keep the flag of the High Court flying high.

Justice Dharam Chand Chaudhary welcomed Justice Ramasubramanian on his first day in the Court and said that Justice Ramasubramanian has a vast and varied experience as Judge and his merit and legal acumen are unparalleled and his judgments are testament to it. He also mentioned that Justice Ramasubramanian is known for his erudition, oratorical skills, simplicity and courteousness.

The Advocate General Shri Ashok Sharma, the Chairman of the Bar Council of H.P. Sh. Ramakant Sharma, President of H.P. High Court Bar Association Sh. Rajiv Jiwan, and Addl. Solicitor General of India Sh. Rajesh Sharma also spoke on the occasion.

Justice Ramasubramanian was born on June 30, 1958. He was enrolled as an Advocate on February 16, 1983, and practised law for almost 23 years in Madras High Court, City & Small Causes Courts, State Consumer Commission & District Consumer Forum, Central and State Administrative Tribunals, Chennai in service, Civil, and Constitutional matters and specialised in service matters. He was appointed as an Additional Judge of the Madras High Court on July 31, 2006 and Permanent Judge on November 9, 2009. He was transferred to Telangana & Andhra Pradesh High Court on April 27, 2016. He was in Telangana High Court before his appointment as Chief Justice of High Court of Himachal Pradesh.

Hon’ble Mr. Justice Tarlok Singh Chauhan, Hon'ble Mr. Justice Sureshwar Thakur, Hon’ble Mr. Justice Vivek Singh Thakur, Hon’ble Mr. Justice Ajay Mohan Goel, Hon’ble Mr. Justice Sandeep Sharma, Hon'ble Mr. Justice Chander Bhusan Barowalia, Hon’ble Mr. Justice Anoop Chitkara and Hon’ble Ms. Justice Jyotsna Rewal Dua were also present on this occasion.

Former judges of High Court of Himachal Pradesh, Justice D P Sood, Justice AK Goel, Justice Kuldip Singh were present on the occasion, besides Justice VK Sharma, the Chairman of HP Administrative Tribunal, and Justice PS Rana, President, HP State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission.

Registrar Vigilance Dr. Baldev Singh, Shri Mukesh Bansal, Secretary, High Court Legal Services Committe, Registrar (Judicial) Shri Vikas Bhardwaj, Registrar (Rules) Shri Ajay Mehta, District and Sessions Judge (Leave and Training) Shri Pawanjit Singh and other Judicial officers, CPC Shri Mohit Bansal, Registrar Accounts Shri Devender Chopra, Registrar Establishment Smt. Poonam Mahajan, Members of Bar Association, officers and Officials of High Court Registry were present on the occasion.

Have something to say? Post your comment
Copyright © 2017, Face 2 News, All rights reserved. Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy Disclaimers